Service & Maintenance


YAMAHA WTGP contest is organized by YMC at Japan once in 2 years to decide the No. 1 Yamaha service technician in the world. This contest is a part of "Global Service Education" plan that Yamaha has been promoting worldwide since 2000.

On October 12 2016, 21 best Technicians from 21 countries who have won their national qualifying contests gathered in Japan for the 7th Yamaha World Technician Grand Prix, at the newly renovated YTA Global Training Center at Yamaha Motor headquarters in Iwata, Japan. These contestants competed in the areas of service knowledge, technical skills and customer service skills.

In year 2012 it was the first time when India Yamaha Motor participated in WTGP and in the very next contest in 2014, it has achieved No 1 position when technician Mr. Meenakshi Sundaram from Madurai won the First position and now in 2016, Yamaha has once again achieved no 1 position by creating history to win WTGP Title second time in a row.

In 2016, India Yamaha Motor participated in the WTGP with 2 participants, Jignesh Girishkumar Rana (Planet Automobiles, Ahmedabad, Gujarat) and Divyanshu Shukla (Shiva Motors, New Delhi) who represented India to demonstrate the caliber of Indian technicians at this global contest.

Mr. Jignesh Girishkumar Rana won the 1st position and was tagged as the world's best Technician whereas Mr. Divyanshu Shukla bagged the 4th position giving back a strong competition to other contestants.

Yamaha Technical Academy (YTA) plays a key role in the group's global education and training program for motorcycle technicians to ensure world-class service that exceeds customer expectations. The pedagogy and training programs of YTA are specially designed based on specific skill-building requirements for each country. Contests are held in each country under National Technician Grand Prix Title for these certified technicians. The winners then compete in the Yamaha World Technician Grand Prix held at YMC, Japan.

India Yamaha Motor Pvt. Ltd (IYM) won the No. 1 Technician Title in the Commuter Model Class at the 7th World Technician Grand Prix 2016 (WTGP) that was held recently in Japan. Yamaha Motor Company (YMC), Japan organizes World Technician Grand Prix championship once in two years where winners of National Technician Grand Prix gets chance to compete for the prestigious title of No.1 Technician in the world. On October 12, 2016, World Technician Grand-Prix was held at YMC headquarters where 21 technicians represented their countries. Two technicians from India participated in this event. It is the third time when India has participated in WTGP since 2012. Mr. Jignesh Rana from Planet Automobile - the brand's Ahmedabad dealership represented India Yamaha Motor Pvt. Ltd. (IYM) in the world championship. In 2014 also, IYM won No. 1 position represented by technician Mr. Meenakshi Sundaram from Madurai.

In India, IYM organized the National Technician Grand Prix in 2014 and 2015, the winners of which were sent to contest WTGP 2016. The contest had 3 stages of competition for technicians until they could achieve National champion title. The 1st stage (Regional level) has written and practical examination which is conducted by field service team at each dealership. From regional contest, 100 technicians (20 from each region) are picked for the next stage. The 2nd stage (zonal contest) is conducted by zonal training team supported by head office training team at zonal YTA in 4 locations. NTGP final is then conducted by YTA Headquarters of India.